Katie's Burrito Mission

Because I love burritos that much!

Mas Burritos

This man watched me eat, made me burrito shy!

What an excellent lunch find!

While interning at Shortlist recently I decided I wanted a burrito for lunch. After being unable to find the place recommended to me I stumbled upon this gem.

Mas Burritos on Grey’s Inn Road was delicious and packed a few punches that the other London burritos haven’t provided. I was quickly enamoured by some of my the new options available to me.

To start, I could have both black beans AND pinto beans in my burrito! Maybe that doesn’t sound exciting to you, but as a vegetarian my bean options are usually the following:

This burrito was the size of a new born puppy.

  • black or pinto, both are veg friendly but you can’t have both
  • black only because the pinto has bacon

I guess that means I’m easily pleased, but it was a delicious combination and I highly recommend it to all of you.

Along with the beans this tasty delight was well-wrapped and chock full of peppers, onions, jalepenos, medium salsa, sour cream, lettuce, chopped tomato, cilantro, and brown rice. Delish! Even the hot and cold ingredients were mixed at a good temperature. (By this I mean there was no ice cold lettuce mixed with scalding hot beans that creates a distraction from the food’s taste.)

I don't typically like salt in my Coronas, but I'll make the odd exception.

The burrito cost £5.50 and looked about the size of a bald puppy. By that I mean larger than your average London burrito.

LIKES: The guac. Oh goodness, more guacamole, please!! Also digging music (Mecian style!) and the descriptive picture menu on the wall. Shame I forgot to take a picture of it because I was too distracted by the other great visuals. (Note all the other pictures on this post to know what I mean.)

DISLIKES: The habanero sauce – it has a thick texture, odd flavour but does add spice. Thankfully it comes in bottles on the tables so you don’t have to get stuck with it in your burrito if you fancy trying it. The medium salsa also wasn’t as spicey as other London burrito restaurant’s medium salsa.
SUGGESTIONS: Remember the salsa isn’t the same level of spiciness as other burrito place in London, mix the black and pinto beans for bean heaven.

Avoid that brown sauce. I'm not sure why it's allowed to exist.

RATING: HOT!
One comment on “Mas Burritos

  1. Emma
    17 November 2011

    I miss working near here. Julie my lunching work mate I used to try and only go once a month but ended up here about once a week! I have been back since I left that office as well. The service was always wonderful too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 19 October 2011 by in HOT and tagged , .
