Katie's Burrito Mission

Because I love burritos that much!

El Burrito

20110907-082205.jpg

Check out the green wall in the background, it matches my straw!

I have mixed feelings about El Burrito, the Soho burrito spot with great green walls.

I popped in for lunch earlier this week with a burrito craving and high hopes. What I got was a massive £5.50 burrito, a complimentary side of tortilla chips and a giant mess.


That wouldn’t have been too much of a problem, except all of their napkin containers were empty! But that’s not my only complaint about the staff. They never asked if I was eating in or takeaway, assumed I wanted all of the standard toppings on my burrito (I did, but that’s not the point – some people have dietary restrictions against so jalepenos me of those ingredients) and then rolled up my burrito without asking if I wanted any of the extra toppings or salsa. What? So I asked them to please unroll the burrito and pop in some medium salsa and jalepenos.

That was much better.

This burrito had the perfect amount of spice for me and the ingredients were nice and hot. Unfortunately it fell apart half way through and made a mess, but I did finish this one, and all the tortilla chips, with NO leftovers! A burrito first.

They also serve horchata, though it’s a tad sweeter than I like my horchata to be. Regardless, I drank it all anyway!

LIKES: Tasty burrito

DISLIKES: The staff’s attitudes/the lack of background music for atmostphere

SUGGESTIONS: Go with a friend, a book or an iPod because they don’t play music! (Or maybe the staff just didn’t turn it on?) Free agua fresca (I chose horchata) for Twitter followers.

RATING: Medium


That wouldn’t have been too much of a problem, except all of their napkin containers were empty! But that’s not my only complaint about the staff. They never asked if I was eating in or takeaway, assumed I wanted all of the standard toppings on my burrito (I did, but that’s not the point – some people have dietary restrictions against so jalepenos me of those ingredients) and then rolled up my burrito without asking if I wanted any of the extra toppings or salsa. What? So I asked them to please unroll the burrito and pop in some medium salsa and jalepenos.

That was much better.

This burrito had the perfect amount of spice for me and the ingredients were nice and hot. Unfortunately it fell apart half way through and made a mess, but I did finish this one, and all the tortilla chips, with NO leftovers! A burrito first.

LIKES: Tasty burrito

DISLIKES: The staff’s attitudes/the lack of background music for atmostphere

SUGGESTIONS: Go with a friend, a book or an iPod because they don’t play music! (Or maybe the staff just didn’t turn it on?)

RATING: Medium

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 9 September 2011 by in MEDIUM and tagged , .
